Author Topic: Could Superman make a burrito he couldn't eat? (superhero comics discussion)  (Read 8478 times)

helvetica

• Arcade Maid
  • United Federation
I'm a nerd, I admit it. I like superheroes, who doesn't? Most of us all watched the summer superhero of the month movie, grew up on the X-Men or Batman cartoons, dreamed about flying around in ridiculously tight clothing punching communists and Nazis and space demons. But I must sheepishly admit I never actually got into reading comics themselves. My knowledge has been strictly through movies and TV and pop culture. It all seemed so daunting with the myriad of different arcs and continuities and volumes and stuff. After seeing Man of Steel this past weekend and nerding completely out about Iron Man 3, I've finally taken the dark plunge into the recesses of my parent's basement. Since I'm a noob I've decided to start with the new 52 DC reboots. I've already tore through Batgirl and I'm about to start reading Supergirl.

My review of Batgirl is OMG FUCKING READ IT.

The Barbara Gordon Gail Simone has crafted is exactly who I want to be, and that's pretty much the entire fun and point of superheroes, being able to identify with your favorite character in some way. She is every bit the girl I strive to be. Athletic, competitive, amazingly smart, driven. But she's also human and has the same flaws like I do. She?s a coward at times, she gets lonely and scared, and she?s rash and impulsive and definitely not always calm and collected. She?s cocky and headstrong, and definitely a loner at times. She?s fiercely independent but still wants a social life. She?s nobody?s sidekick, she is the star of her show. And she wants to save the world, or die trying, and she?s more than willing to bend the rules to do so. She?s a ballerina and an engineer and a detective and she?ll kick your ass, while baking cookies and hacking your databases :D!