Author Topic: What do you call this kind of pattern?  (Read 2956 times)

What do you call this kind of pattern?
« on: November 02, 2010, 11:00:09 PM »
http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&q=%E6%B0%97%E5%90%88%E3%81%84%E9%81%BF%E3%81%91&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&biw=1024&bih=617

That's a search on 気合い避け, it's obviously a technical term specific to danmaku.  I need to translate it for Moedan but if I pick a word the community doesn't actually use it's not helpful.  I'm not experienced enough with danmaku to know what it's supposed to be, that's why I'm translating Moedan.  (I almost called cutbacks switchbacks, but the Touhou wiki used the word cutbacks so that's what I went with)

It literally means avoiding using kiai,  kiai being either yell, warrior spirit, or a yell indicating warrior spirit. (in case you didn't know) 

If you can't see anything about those patterns that makes you say, "oh, he's talking about blah," I may just have to declare it some sort of Japanese slang fanspeak and pick a translation for it myself. 
Or actually try to translate some of those pages to see what's going on.  >.<

Sapz

• There's no escape.
  • It's time to burn!
Re: What do you call this kind of pattern?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 11:14:58 PM »
From the sound of it and the screenshots I'd guess it resembles another term I saw being thrown around at shmups forum:

'Hakkyou: A term which literally means "to go mad" but in Galuda II is referred to when the bosses spit out a stupid amount of bullets, in excess of 500 on screen at once, to be precise.'

It might be a little different to that especially as you make it seems like something the player does rather than the enemy (I know no Japanese whatsoever so I'm just speculating here), but it seems like it means something to do with when an enemy releases a huge amount of bullets - maybe dodging one of these 'hakkyou's. :V I can't see much of any other similarity in terms of dodging from the screenshots, at any rate.