Author Topic: Weiss Schwarz: The Goofy Anime Card Game  (Read 3488 times)

commandercool

• alter cool
Weiss Schwarz: The Goofy Anime Card Game
« on: March 25, 2015, 11:26:09 PM »
My roommate has gotten me hooked on Weiss Schwarz, the anime trading card game by Bushiroad. It sort of reminds me of Upper Deck's Vs. System superhero card game if anybody remembers that, only with more rubber-band mechanics. It's the least Magic-like TCG I've ever seen, and that has caused me to become fascinated with it. I don't know what the fuck is going on at almost any point in a game, so now I have to learn it because it's foreign and weird. It seems to have interesting flow and some kind of internal logic to figure out, and you draw a ton of cards with a small deck so in some ways it's less luck-based than a lot of other games, but because of the damage mechanics also much more. I kind of like it. So anyway, does anyone else play it?

I started learning it a couple of weeks ago, and last weekend he and I both ordered booster boxes (he got a Persona 4, I got a Kill La Kill). Mine came in the mail today and I just finished opening it. Yesterday I got my Japanese Railgun S trial deck, and I pulled chase cards out of both (a signed Mikoto and a signed Ryuko), so I'm considering flipping them to buy another box. Or not, I don't know. I don't know what I'm doing. I wish someone local also played this so someone could teach me and I could trade with someone, but the only people I could find are either my roommate, who's in exactly as deep as I am, and a few people at my comic book store who own trial decks and know the rules but have never really played. I should try to get a league going or something.
I made a PADHerder. It's probably out of date though.

yuyukos

• ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Techies
  • ༼ つ ◕◡◕ ༽つ Techies were given.
Re: Weiss Schwarz: The Goofy Anime Card Game
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2015, 11:48:52 PM »