Author Topic: Ethics of Acquiring End-of-life (product) Doujin Goods  (Read 2634 times)

Ethics of Acquiring End-of-life (product) Doujin Goods
« on: August 14, 2015, 03:03:09 PM »
Hello!

I'm fairly new to the fandom, and this site as well, so I apologize if this has already been discussed with great depth in the past. However, from both Google searches and scavenging the forum for a bit, I could not find a thread that addressed this topic with enough substance for my taste.

As a new fan, I've been greatly impressed by the works of the numerous and exceptionally talented artists and creators found in the Touhou Project fandom. Still, I must say that navigating this franchise has been something of a learning experience for me?Touhou is both my first encounter and the closest I've ever come to anything like the Japanese doujin culture, and I must admit that it's sometimes difficult to explore a world where the difference between acceptable and not isn't as simple as what's ordinarily found in the mainstream.

I think we can all agree that with regards to purchasing an artist's works, it's most often best to do right by the original creators as much as we can. Generally, this means purchasing works legally without resorting to piracy, and it also means acquiring goods in a way that pays respect to the author's intentions and will. In the limited time I've spent observing this forum, I've found that such thoughts have come to define the philosophy of Maidens of the Kaleidoscope, and rightfully so in my eyes.