Author Topic: Phantasmagoria of Dim. Dream  (Read 5153 times)

Tengukami

• Breaking news. Any season.
  • I said, with a posed look.
Phantasmagoria of Dim. Dream
« on: August 02, 2009, 10:11:51 AM »
I have issues with PoFV - if I don't hit the Z button at juuuust the right time at the end of a stage, it will either freeze or crash. The only two things that console me are 1) I bought the official CD of this game, and 2) installed it on my wife's Windows XP machine.

However, going through the PC-98 games recently, I started playing Phantasmagoria of Dim. Dream and I have to say, this is a very good game. Perhaps even better than PoFV.

I can't be the only one who plays this, so what are your thoughts? Any favorites PCs/stages/bosses/spellcards? Let it all out.

"Human history and growth are both linked closely to strife. Without conflict, humanity would have no impetus for growth. When humans are satisfied with their present condition, they may as well give up on life."

nintendonut888

• So those that live now, pledge on your fists and souls
  • Leave a sign of your life, no matter how small...
Re: Phantasmagoria of Dim. Dream
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2009, 10:17:02 AM »
I agree that it is a better game than PoFV, because it is a fairer game. No matter how many times you die, your chances of defeating a boss are the same in terms of the computer AI. This way, the game doesn't pity you as you lose lives.

I have to say that its lunatic is absolutely brutal though. It takes a lot of effort to beat this game on it period, let alone 1cc. The bullets are fast and the charge attacks are (mostly) fierce. However, there is a lot less focus on "LOL I WALL YOU IN" than in PoFV (the one big factor that makes me despise the game) and more "can you dodge this," which is what Touhou's all about.

And anyone who doesn't love Kana and Chiyuri and Yumemi are heathens.
nintendonut888: Hey Baity. I beat the high score for Sanae B hard on the score.dat you sent me. X3