Author Topic: [Fan Game Idea] A boss is you: Is it feasibly possible?  (Read 8973 times)

Failure McFailFace

• I'm h...a...p...p...y...
  • Impor
[Fan Game Idea] A boss is you: Is it feasibly possible?
« on: July 23, 2014, 09:16:59 PM »
So, an idea that I've been carrying around for a few months now is an... interesting idea for a Touhou fan game.

Summed up into 4 words: A boss is you.

An elaboration that I posted from Lincoln's "Original Touhou Game Ideas, anyone?" thread: (edited for organization)
Another idea:

A boss is you. You are a boss in Touhou, and you're out to test out your new spell cards on various objects, like rocks, trees, fairies, humans, youkai, and other less mundane things.

At the starting screen, you pick what collection of spell cards to use, similar to ISC. You have to complete each "enemy" using all sets of your spell cards, by making the opponent lose all of your lives. After that, you move on to the next opponent.

It is completely out possible to beat the game using only Level 1 spell cards, but it's very hard as there's an AI constantly dodging and attacking you with shot types, and your cards aren't upgraded/optimized to Hard or Lunatic levels. Thus, there's a leveling system like ISC, but you have to optimize the cards yourself via a tech tree of sorts.

You also get to customize your card decks, like in SWR and UNL. You're able to pick between three types of spell cards: Regular, survival, and multi-phased.

• Regular spell cards are your run-of-the-mill cards that you can either time out or shoot down.
  • Survival cards removes your hitbox (the boss you're playing as) and forces the opponent to time out the card.