Author Topic: Adventures in Cosplay!  (Read 191157 times)

triangles

• gotta stock up on dark matter
  • each pound of which weighs over 10,000 pounds
Adventures in Cosplay!
« on: June 13, 2011, 12:59:57 AM »
(I'm putting this here since it's closer in theme to all the convention threads than THIS IS ART ones in AA)

My name is triangles, and I am a cosplayer.  I've been cosplaying in some capacity since 2002.  Usually very poorly, as I learned how to sew by making costumes trial by fire.  I kept at it, even got MJP to do some sewing and overall am quite proud of my work nowadays and find myself enjoying sitting behind a sewing machine to make something awesome. While many of my friends that I met in these early days have become ~*~cosplay famous~*~ I have always only done costumes of things I was really a fan and passionate about, which means while I'll never win awards or have a gazillion hits on some website gallery, it's always such a treat to run into fans of the shows and games I adore!

My latest outfit from this weekend is one of my favorite characters in my favorite outfit of hers:

I was running the cosplay chess this morning, I figured Beatrice was more than appropriate.

While most of the outfit was either in my closet or from the store with little modifications, that skirt.
Let me tell the saga of that skirt:
I buy a EZ SEW tier ruffly skirt pattern, and considering I've done some seriously intense things in 2010 figure that it'll be not a problem so I don't begin until the end of May.  However, I decide that the skirt pattern wasn't short enough (I'm 5'3" with short legs, and most female patterns are designed for the 5'7" range) so I'm going to lop off the bottom tier and call it a day.
Ahahahahaha
hahahaha
ha.

Turns out it would have been only about an inch or two too long and leaving off the bottom tier meant:
A) It didn't zip up properly without
B) Serious booty showing,  Like, hello underwear showing.