Author Topic: Tokiko's Life  (Read 3627 times)

Tokiko's Life
« on: February 23, 2011, 02:39:39 PM »
This is my first attempt at writing fiction so critiques are very welcome.
(edited 2/24)

A bright clear day, perfect for hunting.  Tokiko hummed a nameless tune to herself as she went exploring for Outside artifacts.  She was not sure how they got past the barrier that separated Gensoko from the Outside World but they did and were both valuable and fascinating.  Tokiko was not the best hunter, she could fly but was always so interested in what she found that often her first find would keep her busy as she puzzled over the strange things for days or read about incomprehensible things.  A bigger weakness as a hunter was her strength.  Tokiko was not powerful enough to hold a claim against other hunters.  She could beat a normal human but was no match for much greater entities as encounters with Red-White and the Witch went badly despite her irregular danmaku. 

As for Tokiko herself, no matter what she tried, she was not very imposing like the proper yokai she believed she should be. She had the requite features to be terrifying; wings, horns, and piercing red eyes. Wearing her black dress and blue corset she originally thought she looked quite intimidating.  Well if it her horns weren?t stubs and the cocalteal like crest atop her head amid blue and white hair. Her outfit, carefully designed to be intimidating came across as young lady who was an inordinate fan of Gothic Lotita. Finally her stature just was not up to being intimidating. Even though she was older than many humans she still looked like she was fairly young. Eventually Tokiko learned to tolerate being "cute". She discovered cute had some advantages and pretending to be powerful without actually being so got one into unwinnable fights.