Author Topic: Suika Fortress - The Touhou Dwarf Fortress mod 0.34.11 update!  (Read 30840 times)

Totaku

• The Traveling Otaku of Gensokyo
  • I want to be a little NEET moon princess
Suika Fortress - The Touhou Dwarf Fortress mod 0.34.11 update!
« on: December 05, 2011, 10:44:09 PM »
Greetings Everyone,

It's been a while since I last was active here, but after talking to the gang on the IRC board, I decided that now is probably a good time to introduce this board to my mod creation that I had been working on for the last 2 years.

I'll beginning by giving you all a little history behind it:

Orginally it all began when I watched someone do a person named Ramus use to play Dungeon Crawl games on the RPG board with some things altered by change some graphics to make it seem more Touhou like in apperance. This eventually got me into doing graphic mods.

But eventually I wanted to do something like he did so while going through my list of games I came across Dwarf Fortress.

For those that don't know Dwarf Fortress is a unique sanbox game that was made by Tarn Adams (AKA Toady One) which could be labeled as a "fantasy simulator". The game itself allows you to randomly generate a world and let it's history develop. From there you can choose to either read the history of the land, play as a team of dwarves that are embarking to a new location to build a fort, or to play an adventurer to go on whatever adventure you like.

Orginally, when I started work on this mod, it was intended to be a "just for fun" kinda mod. Where I replaced some Dwarf sprites with Suikas and maybe a few animals, but when I launched the game on the RPG board it became a rather big hit so I knew I nailed something good. Here the orginal thread if interested http://www.shrinemaiden.org/forum/index.php/topic,1532.0.html