Author Topic: some questions regarding stage layouts and music making  (Read 3750 times)

some questions regarding stage layouts and music making
« on: May 02, 2011, 12:53:48 AM »
hello! ^^

I heard somewhere that, to learn how to make an independent game, it would be a good idea to make a simple engine and see if the gameplay is fun enough, and then develop over it; so, here are some questions, thank you in advance:

- which languages are the most favored for developing these games and where do I start if I have no prior experience in game/engine making? (C++ programming books featuring interruptions and array manipulations for 3d flight simulators scared me back then around 1997, and I don't understand anything about DirectX, is it too difficult to understand or get into?)

- what are good places to learn about stage designing or general gameplay theory? (things like flow, balancing, etc.. I don't want the stages to be linear, repetitive, monotonous, nor that the player stays much time without doing anything)

- also, since I'm also having problems regarding how to create a plot that justifies the presence of the characters I want to use, how do you people handle the plot creation in a way that it's convincing? (quick example: ESP Galuda, ESP Ra.De, Battle Garegga, Armed Police Batrider, etc..)
I can't define a goal for the antagonists or protagonists, or a good enough goal.

- and finally, for now, where do I start if I want to try to make music? :p  (I don't play any instruments and don't know how to read tablatures.. is there any hope? :p)
neku: now for something important.
Translations.
How much time do you guys think it will take for HM to be translated? Besides everyone's story modes and the whole menus, there's also the fact that the way HM's programmed is different from all other games. I bet it'll take two months.

lusvik: I don't mind about playing HM in japanese. The language of punching other people is international.

DX7.EP

• Red shroom